Job Help
What Are Jobs?
The core unit of Headshot Tools is a “Job”. A job is a self-standing collection of individual galleries, or what we call “Shoots”. Generally, you can think of a job as a single headshot station for a gig. However, there are other configurations as well. See our guide for setting up multiple stations here.Adding A Job
To create a job, navigate to the “Jobs” menu item and click the “+ Add Job” button in the top right. You will be brought to the “New Job Details” form where you can specify settings specifically for this job.
- Job Name – Use this field as a helpful label for this job. This field is entirely private and will never be exposed to outside participants or a client.
- Client Name – Use this field to keep track of which client this job belongs to. This field is entirely private and will never be exposed to outside participants or a client.
- Logo File – This field allows you to upload a logo file for the job. Many people use the client’s logo to brand the job but you can also use your own business logo.
This image will show up publicly on the Sign Up and Gallery pages as well other various interfaces throughout the system. For the best experience we recommend a transparent PNG file somewhere around 500px and less than 1MB in size. - Image Retouch Selection – This option allows participants to select images within their gallery as favorites they would like retouched. Participants can do this by clicking a heart icon in the bottom right of an image in their gallery. Additionally, when this feature is activated, the email participants receive will direct them to make choices in their gallery. For info about payment options see here.
- Retouch Selection Limit – This option restricts users to selecting only the number of images you enter in the text box. Leave this field blank if you want unlimited selections. You can also override this setting on a participant-by-participant basis with shoot overrides. NOTE: This option will only appear when you activate Image Retouch Selection. Please only enter the number of retouches you expect to be chosen or your gallery instructions may look strange. For example, if you entered 999, it would appear as if the participant needs to select 999 images.
- Image Downloads – This setting controls the ability to download the high-resolution images within both the individual and full gallery interfaces. There are five available options:
- “No Image Downloads Are Allowed”
- The gallery is view only - - “All Images Can Be Downloaded”
- Everything can be downloaded - - “Only Retouched Images Are Downloadable”
- Only files ending with "-Retouched.<file extension>" are downloadable -
See more about file naming here - “Only X Number Of Images Are Downloadable”
- Limit participants to a set number of image downloads. - - “Only X Number Of Images Are Downloadable And Additional Downloads Can Be Purchased”
- Limit participants to a set number of free included images and allow them to purchase additional downloads. -
- “No Image Downloads Are Allowed”
- Image Security Watermarks – This setting applies an AI resistant watermark to your images. It is not available for all image download modes. You can see more details about the image security watermark feature here.
- Email Delivery Settings - Use this setting to control if participants within this job are emailed a link to their gallery immediately upon shooting or later by some other means. There are two options:
- Instant - Participants will be emailed a link to their gallery when you double-click on their name in the Dashboard Queue or Pool interface.
This option is best used for events or team jobs with immediate delivery of images. - Manual - No emails will be automatically sent. You can send emails later by utilizing our Mass Notify feature or clicking into a specific shoot and choosing to send a gallery link manually.
This option is best for when you are utilizing on-site selection, you want to deliver after the job, or are using Headshot Tools for only its queue and renaming features.
Please Note: This setting does not pertain to time slot booking emails. Only Gallery Emails.
- Instant - Participants will be emailed a link to their gallery when you double-click on their name in the Dashboard Queue or Pool interface.
Editing A Job
To edit a job, first navigate to the Job's list and select the job from the job listing. In the top right corner of the “Job” panel, click the three vertically aligned dots and then click “Edit Job”.All fields within the Job Edit Form simply update the job as you would expect except for two fields:
- Image Retouch Selection – Deactivating this option will not clear any selections made. It will only turn off the heart icons for selection.
- Image Downloads – When a user downloads “All” their images from a gallery, Headshot Tools will cache the zip file of all the images for fast retrieval. You might click the “Download All” button before sending a full gallery to a client to allow your client a faster experience in downloading all their images.
However, when you modify this setting, we clear the cache of all zip files for this job to prevent exposing images that don’t align with your selected choice. If you change this setting and want the “Download All” button to be instantaneous for your client, make sure to click the “Download All” button AFTER switching this setting.
Additionally, changing this setting when Image Security Watermarks are enabled might cause your gallery to reprocess. You can see more about this here.
Deleting A Job
We only recommend you delete a job when you and your client have no intention of coming back to this job or using its galleries. Deleting a job is permanent and destroys ALL data within it, including the URLs to each participant’s gallery as well as the full gallery. Once a job is deleted, it is impossible to repair, even by Headshot Tools support. Please be absolutely sure you want to delete a job before continuing.It might be a better idea to use the “Delete All Files” tool instead. The “Delete All Files” tool allows you to delete all the image files within a job but retain all participant data. This allows you to revive an old job by re-uploading the images at a later date.
To delete a job, first navigate to your job. In the Job Panel, click the three vertical dots, followed by “Delete Job". You will be asked to read and confirm various aspects of the delete. Upon completion, the job will be permanently deleted with no way of ever getting it back. Deletion can take a few moments, especially for larger jobs.
Common Issues / Questions
Can you copy a job?
You can copy a job's settings using the "Copy Job Settings" button. See more about Copy Job Settings here.Can I sell retouched images and downloads at the same time?
This configuration is currently not available. Image Retouch Selection and Limited Download are currently mutually exclusive. Please do not attempt to switch back and forth between the modes to perform both retouching purchases and limited download choices. You will run into situations that do not work. See this page for more information.