Copy Job Settings Help

How To Copy A Job’s Settings

Headshot Tools allows you to copy all the settings of a job into a brand-new empty job. This feature is perfect for re-using settings from a prior job or for setting up some job default templates that you can reuse for different types of jobs. No need to re-enter your gallery settings or customizations!

To copy a job’s settings:
  1. Navigate to the job you want to copy.
  2. Click the three vertical dots icon in the “Job” panel.
  3. Click “ Copy Job Settings”.
After you copy a job, you will be brought to the job edit page where you’ll be able to modify the job's name, logo, or other settings if you wish.



Common Uses

There are many common uses of this feature, but here are just two examples that are great time savers:

Job Reuse – In situations where you recently configured a job very specifically for a client and find out you need to perform a similar job. Simply copying the job’s settings for a new job can be a big time saver versus adding a new one from scratch.

Job Templates – Many users of Headshot Tools use the software to shoot different types of jobs. For example, individuals, teams, and events. Each of these types of jobs may require different settings. We recommend adding a new job for each recurring job type and titling them something like:

TEMPLATE – Individual
TEMPLATE – Team
TEMPLATE – Event

Now set these jobs up with the settings you typically use. Once complete, you’ll be able to easily copy these job templates into new jobs and everything will be perfectly configured as you like! Feel free to modify your template jobs over time so that every time you copy a template job, your settings are exactly how you prefer.



What Is Included In A Settings Copy?

This tool will copy only the job’s settings and logo for a job. For example, all gallery settings, customizations, sign up form fields, and enabled advanced features. Essentially any configuration you performed to the source job will be retained and placed into the new empty and copied job.



What Is Excluded In A Settings Copy?

This tool does not copy shoots, file prefixes, headshot images of any kind, gallery / sign-up URLs, QR codes or any scheduling related settings / slots. Essentially, no participant data or scheduling data will be copied using this tool. The resulting new job will be a completely empty shell of a job, configured with the same settings as the source job. The new copied job will also receive a new QR code for sign up.



Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com