Shoot Overrides Help

What Are Shoot Overrides?

When your job is set up for limited retouching or limited downloading, you can optionally specify a participant-by-participant limit that “overrides” the main job’s default configured limit. Perfect for VIP or executive participants!

For example, imagine your job is set for participants to select 1 image for retouching. This works great for standard participants, but say the CEO wants to pick 5 retouched images. With shoot overrides, you can allow only the CEO to pick 5, while the other participants remain limited to 1!



How Do Shoot Overrides Work?

Shoot overrides always follow your base job configuration. Override options will always mirror the setup you see in the base job. For example:
  • If your job is set to limit participant downloads, then any overrides you apply to individual participants are overriding their download limit.
  • If your job is set to limit participant retouching selections, then any overrides you apply to individual participants are overriding their retouching selection limit.
You may need to offer your participants different types of deliverables. For example, some participants get to download a certain number of images and some get to pick retouching sections. In this situation you will need to utilize two separate jobs or simplify your job’s requirements.



What Happens To Overrides If I Change My Job Configuration?

Shoot overrides are only valid for the job configuration they were enabled under. For example, imagine the following scenario:
  1. Your job is set up to limit retouching selections to 1 image per participant.
  2. You apply an override to “John Smith” so only he can select 3 retouched images.
  3. Now say you changed your mind about this job and instead of having your participants pick retouching selections, you want them to pick download choices. So, you change the job’s configuration, deactivating retouch selection and enabling download limiting such that all participants get to choose 1 image for download.
In the above example, the override you applied to “John Smith” in Step 2 is no longer compatible or in-effect. “John Smith’s” gallery will function just like any other participant for this job, receiving 1 download choice. Below are two solutions for this situation:
  • Solution 1 - If this was a mistake, simply put the job back to its original configuration and “John Smith’s” retouching override will be re-enabled.
  • Solution 2 - If you instead want “John Smith” to be allowed 3 image downloads while the other participants only get 1, you’ll need to re-apply “John Smith’s” override.


How Do You Enable A Shoot Override?

Before you enable any shoot overrides, please ensure that your job’s base settings are as you intend for this job. Changing your job’s setting after you’ve applied overrides may invalidate your existing overrides. See above for more info…

To enable a shoot override:
  • Navigate to the job that contains the participant you want to override.
  • Click on the participant’s name in the “Shoots” panel.
  • Click the gold “ Edit Shoot” button.
  • Toggle the “Enable Override” dropdown to “Yes” and provide the new limit value.
  • Save your changes by clicking “Edit Shoot” at the bottom of the screen.
Your shoot detail will now display a next to the participant’s name to signify that an override is applied and valid. Also, all portions of the system will now respect the override limit for this participant. Not seeing the shoot override panel?



Which Job Settings Allow Overrides?

Shoot overrides always follow your base job configuration. The below base job settings allow overrides within an individual shoot participant:

Image Retouch Selection Modes Image Download Modes Please note that overrides configured while in one of the above modes are only valid in that mode. If after applying overrides, you change your job to a different mode, the previously configured overrides will be invalid and not have any effect.



Common Issues / Questions


  • Can I set overrides in bulk?
    At this time overrides can only be set on a one-by-one basis via the shoot edit interface.
  • Will the override be respected by ...?
    An active and compatible override will be respected by every feature of the system. An overridden participant will behave just as if the job was set with their override limit but just for that participant.
  • Is there any difference to the retouching workflow with an override?
    No. The retouching workflow works just as it would normally. No difference in behavior needed.
  • I setup an override but it’s not there anymore!
    This is caused by changing your job’s “Image Retouch Selection” or “Image Downloads” option after you set up overrides. Overrides follow your job’s base configuration. Changing your job’s base configuring when overrides exist will make your overrides no longer compatible with the job. See above for more info…
  • The shoot override panel is missing!
    Remember shoot overrides always follow the base job’s configuration. If your job is not setup to limit retouching or downloads, then there is nothing to override. Depending on your use case, you may have to set your job to a limiting mode, then apply overrides as needed.



Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com