Retouching Workflow Help

Retouching Workflow


Use this workflow for when you’ve already created and shot a job, uploaded all the proofs and your participants have already selected their images for retouching. The below steps walk you through how to get retouching selections out of Headshot Tools, edited and back into Headshot Tools for delivery.



Step 1 – Lock Your Retouch Selections
To lock your retouching selections so participants can no longer make or change heart choices, navigate to the Job Edit interface and set the “Image Retouch Selection” mode to “Deactivated”. This will NOT clear your selections.

If you still want participants to be able to purchase retouching, leave your "Image Retouch Selection" mode set to “Allow Participants To Select And Purchase Images For Retouching” and set the "How Many Retouched Images Are Included Free Of Charge?" option to 0.

NOTE: You only want to do this if all of the participants have selected their images. The “Image Retouch Selection” option applies to the ENTIRE job. While we don't recommend retouching in batches or phases, you may want to utilize our advanced setting for hiding retouch selection here.

Having trouble getting participants to select? See our Retouch Selection Best Practices.



Step 2 – Load Your Retouching Selections
Navigate to the Job Detail interface. Click the three dots icon in the shoot list and select “Retouch Export List”. You can use this tool to copy a list of all the file names participants have selected or purchased for retouching. This file list can be pasted into Capture One or Lightroom's search library feature, allowing you to filter your library to only the images that need to be retouched.

NOTE: If you tethered with Capture One but want to edit your images in Adobe Lightroom, use our Capture One To Lightroom guide to first get your images into Adobe Lightroom, then resume this step when complete.

Start by clicking the corresponding teal button for the editing software you're going to use, then click the "Copy Results To Clipboard" button. To isolate to these images:

Capture One Searching - Simply paste the list into the search bar using Command + V on Mac or Control + V on Windows.

Lightroom Searching - Towards the top of the library, click "Text". Now clear any existing filters and select “Any Searchable Field” and “Contains”. Now paste into the library search box.

You can now edit/retouch your images exactly as you're used to!

-If Lightroom or Capture One are not filtering your selections correctly, see our Retouch Export List Troubleshooting Guide.



Step 3 – Export Your Retouched Images
To export images as retouched and have the system recognize them, simply export your files so the existing filename ends with “-Retouched”.

For example, if your original file name was:
Smith_John_123-0001.jpg

The retouched filename would be:
Smith_John_123-0001-Retouched.jpg

Renaming files to end with "-Retouched" has the following effects:
  • It allows only retouched files to be downloaded when your job download setting is set to “Only Retouched Images Are Downloadable”.
  • Retouched images are displayed first in a gallery.
  • All retouched images are marked with a star and gold border.
  • Allows you to keep track of unfulfilled retouching via the Retouch Export List.
  • Allows dynamic hiding of the retouch selection instructions and heart icons when the advanced setting for hiding selection is enabled.
  • See more about file naming here.
To learn about how to perform this naming operation, see the below links:

Step 4 – Upload Your Retouched Images
To upload your retouched files, use the Auto Upload Utility just as you would normally upload any other files. For more info on uploading see here.



Step 5 – Reset Your Gallery Viewed Statuses
You can optionally reset all the “Viewed Gallery” statuses to “Not Viewed” using the “Mass Reset Viewed” tool found in the Shoot List’s three dot menu. This tool will set all shoots in the job to “Not Viewed” so you can now track the state of participants viewing their retouched images. We recommend you perform this step.



Step 6 – Notify Your Participants That Their Retouching Is Complete
Navigate to the job detail page, click the three dots icon on the shoots list and select “Mass Notify”. Select “Participants who have retouched files” from the filter drop down and click the “Send Mass Email Notifications” button. This will email gallery links to all participants who have retouched images in their galleries.

If you also utilized Step 5 above and reset all galleries viewed states, you can later use the “Participants who have not yet viewed their gallery” mass notify filter as a reminder for people who didn’t view their galleries yet. This way you only email people who haven’t seen their retouched images yet rather than everyone with retouched images.

You can learn more about How To Mass Notify Participants here.



Common Issues


  • My retouched files aren't being recognized as retouched images.
    Make sure your filenames end with "-Retouched". Please note that the leading character is a hyphen. Smith_John_123-0001-Retouched.jpg
  • My retouched export list won't load in Lightroom or Capture One.
    If Lightroom or Capture One are not filtering your selections correctly, see our Retouch Export List Troubleshooting Guide.
  • What if everyone has not selected their images yet?
    We recommend setting a deadline for your participants to choose their images or they trust that their talented photographer will choose the best for them! This prevents your job from becoming never ending, allows you to assembly line your retouching getting it done in one iteration, and ultimately saves you time and money! See our Retouch Selection Best Practices for more information.


Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com