Mass Notify Help

How To Mass Notify Participants


To quickly email participants their galleries in bulk, you can use the mass notify tool. This tool will allow you to send emails to all the participants or filter the list down to a smaller set of specific participants.

To access this feature:
  1. Navigate to the jobs list and click your job’s name.
  2. Click the three vertical dots icon in the “Shoots” panel.
  3. Click  “ Mass Notify”.


Which Shoots Are Eligible For Mass Notify?

By default, a shoot participant is only eligible to receive emails from Headshot Tools when both of the following are true:

  1. They have been double-clicked and no longer display in the dashboard’s queue.
    -If your job is in Pool Mode, they will instead have a green check next to their name.
  2. They have images in their gallery.


Mass Notify Filters

In addition to the above prerequisite filters, you can apply additional filtering to who you want to notify by selecting one of the filtering options from the dropdown. You have a few choices:
  • All participants - This option performs no additional filtering and will email ALL participants in the shoot who meet the above eligibility criteria.
    NOTE: Please use this option sparingly as it emails EVERYONE in your job!
  • Participants who have retouched files - This option will filter the list of shoots down further, only sending email notifications to participants who have retouched files in their galleries.
  • Participants who have not yet viewed their galleries - This option will filter the list so you’re only sending email notifications to participants who have not yet viewed their galleries.
  • Participants who have not yet selected images for retouching - This option will filter the list, sending email notifications only to participants who haven’t “hearted” their selections for retouching. Having trouble getting participants to select? See our Retouch Selection Best Practices.
    NOTE: This option will only be visible when retouching selection is enabled. This option only applies to "hearted" selections. Purchased retouching is excluded.
  • Participants who have new or modified images since the last time they were emailed - This option will filter the list, only sending email notifications to participants who meet any of the below criteria:
    • The participant has accumulated additional images since the last time they were emailed.
    • The participant had any of their existing images updated since the last time they were emailed.
    • The participant has never been emailed before but has images. Essentially, all their images are new.
After selecting the correct filtering choice, click the “Send Mass Email Notifications” button and confirm you want to send. This will send emails to the appropriate participants.



Mass Notify And Email Content

NOTE: The filters above do not affect the content of the email a participant will receive! See below for more details.

The emails sent to these participants will automatically morph to an appropriate email text depending on what the participant's gallery looks like. For example:
  • If the participant has a retouched file in their gallery, they will receive an email letting them know that their retouching is complete.
  • If the participant has not made their retouching selections, they will receive an email letting them know to please make their selections.
  • Otherwise, they will simply receive an email that says to view their gallery.
For more info on what the emails say, see our What Do The Emails From Headshot Tools Say? guide. Please note that opted-out participants are entirely excluded from the mass notify tool.


Common Issues / Questions


  • After sending, 0 emails are queued.
    Make sure your shoots have been double-clicked in the Dashboard's Queue and no longer display in the dashboard’s queue. Also confirm the shoot participants have images in their gallery. The Job Inspector is a quick and easy way to validate these items.
  • The preview count isn't what I would expect!
    The mass notify preview filters our participants who have opted out of emails as well as participants who have failed emailing 3 times or have been emailed 5 or more times. You can see more about email counts here.
  • What does "emails queued" mean?
    This means the system has your emails and will send them very shortly. You're all set!
  • What do the emails say?
    See our What Do The Emails From Headshot Tools Say? guide here.
  • How do you manually email a single participant?
    See our How To Work With Shoots help page - "Send Gallery Email" section.


Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com