Email Opt Out Help
What Is Email Opt Out?
While rare, it is possible that after a participant receives their initial gallery of headshots, they choose to no longer be emailed. They can indicate this decision by clicking the “Opt-Out” link within the gallery email. Upon clicking this link, your participant is presented with two communication preference options:
Option 1 - The ability to opt out of receiving emails for specifically the shoot they were emailed.
When this option is selected by the participant, you will be unable to send emails via specifically this shoot. The “Send Gallery Email” button will be disabled within the Shoot Detail page and the Mass Notify tool will not queue any emails for this shoot. If this participant has multiple shoots within this job or other jobs, they will still be permitted email there.
Option 2 - The ability to opt out of receiving emails for all galleries across the entire system.
When this option is selected by the participant, Headshot Tools will be unable to send this shoot’s email address any emails across all shoots or jobs. Similar to the prior option, sending will be unavailable within this shoot but also any other shoots.
When this option is selected by the participant, you will be unable to send emails via specifically this shoot. The “Send Gallery Email” button will be disabled within the Shoot Detail page and the Mass Notify tool will not queue any emails for this shoot. If this participant has multiple shoots within this job or other jobs, they will still be permitted email there.
Option 2 - The ability to opt out of receiving emails for all galleries across the entire system.
When this option is selected by the participant, Headshot Tools will be unable to send this shoot’s email address any emails across all shoots or jobs. Similar to the prior option, sending will be unavailable within this shoot but also any other shoots.
Headshot Tools is legally required to honor participant’s request for opting out of emails. We appreciate your understanding.
Where Can I See If A Participant Opted Out?
You can review opt out information in any of the below three places:Shoot Detail – The shoot detail page will show a icon next to the participant’s name if they have opted out of that specific shoot. You can access the shoot detail page by clicking on a participant’s name within the job detail or job inspector pages.
Job Detail – In the Shoot's list at the bottom of the job detail page (the page with the QR code on it). The same icon will show next to the name of a shoot that has opted out..
Job Inspector – Similar to the Job Detail's shoot list, the same icon will show next to the name of a shoot that has opted out.
CSV Export - You can also review this information via the CSV Export’s “Email Opt Out” column. You can export this CSV file by clicking into your job, clicking the three vertical dots icon in the “Shoots” panel, then clicking “Export CSV”.
How To Prevent Participant Opt Out
There is no setting to prevent participants from opting out but there are some best practices you can follow to ensure that your participants refrain from opting out of your emails. For the best results we recommend the following:- Send Emails Sparingly – Only send emails when you really need to. Review the Mass Notify filters and ensure you know how they work such that you’re only emailing the participants you intend to email. You may have some participants lag in making selections. Try not to annoy them with too many emails. You might reach out to them via different communication channels or schedule a deadline with participants for when selections are due.
- Ensure Your Participants Expect Your Email – Make sure you’re letting your participant’s know they’ll receive an email with a link to their gallery from “Headshot Delivery” – noreply@HeadshotTools.com . This is especially true if you are attempting to utilize Headshot Tools for photos that your participant might not consider as “Headshots”.
- Address Participant Feedback While Shooting – Our data shows that if a participant isn’t happy with their photos, opting out can be an outlet for their feelings. Try to ensure that while you’re shooting, your participant likes how they look.
- Avoid Unwilling Participants – If a participant is not interested in having their photo taken or receiving their photos afterwards, simply stop! Skip or delete the shoot. Don’t export/upload their images.
- Practice – By following our recommended setup / training videos and ensuring each participant receives their photos, you greatly reduce the possibility of any opt-outs. See our Quick Start guide for more!
Common Questions
Can participants opt back in?
Opting out is permanent and cannot be reversed.