Hide Selection Help

Hide Selection When Retouching Exists

This advanced feature allows you to automatically hide the selection instructions ribbon and heart icons when a participant has at least one retouched image within their gallery.

Unlike the standard functionality of the gallery, which always follows the job's "Image Retouch Selection" option, this setting allows each participant's gallery to dynamically change so that selection is no longer allowed when retouched image(s) are present in their gallery.

In this type of scenario, a retouched image symbolizes the completion of this participant's shoot in Headshot Tools.

Please Note: This feature is often used for phased retouching where you retouch in batches. We do not generally recommend this practice but in some situations it's unavoidable. For the most optimal workflow, we recommend scheduling your retouching, performing it in one go and following the standard retouching workflow steps.


When Should You Use This Setting?

While rarer than other settings, there are a few situations where this setting is helpful:

  • You will be delivering retouched images slowly over time.
  • You will be delivering retouched images to only a subset of participants within your job.
  • You have a job that you consistently reuse for a recurring client. For example, when collecting new hire photos over time.
  • If you often find yourself forgetting to deactivate retouching selection when performing the retouching workflow.


What’s Different With This Setting?

There are a few notable differences when this setting is enabled:

  • When your job's "Image Retouch Selection" mode is set to "Allow Participants To Select Images For Retouching", with or without a "Retouch Selection Limit" supplied, a participant's gallery will not show the selection instructions or heart icons when retouched image(s) are present.
  • When your job's "Image Retouch Selection" mode is set to "Allow Participants To Select And Purchase Images For Retouching" with a number greater than 0 applied to the "How Many Retouched Images Are Included Free Of Charge?" option, a participant's gallery will not show the selection instructions or heart icons when retouched image(s) are present.
  • Unlike the retouching workflow, you will not be locking your retouching selections when utilizing this setting. This may cause you to retouch an old selection if the participant changes their selection while you are performing your editing. We recommend using the standard retouching workflow to prevent this.


How To Enable This Setting

To enable this setting for your job:
  1. Navigate to the jobs list and click your job’s name.
  2. Click the three vertical dots icon in the “Job” panel.
  3. Click  “ Advanced Settings”.
  4. Change the “Hide Selection When Retouching Exists” dropdown to “Enabled”
  5. Save your changes by clicking "Save Advanced Job Settings" at the bottom of the page.
NOTE: If any of your participants have freshly added galleries open while this setting is changed and retouched images are present, they may be asked to refresh their page.



Common Issues / Questions


  • Can I toggle this option whenever I want?
    You can toggle between enabled and disabled at any point without issue. Just be aware that if any of your participants have freshly added galleries open while this setting is changed and retouched images are present, they may be asked to refresh their page.
  • Do I need to set this option every time I want to use it?
    Yes, or you can use the "Copy Job Settings" feature to clone a past job's settings. This setting will be reflected in the new copied job.


Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com