Multiple Stations Help
How To Set Up Multiple Stations
You may book a client who requires multiple shooting stations to capture either a large number of participants or to complete the shoot in a shorter amount of time. Setting up Headshot Tools for this type of scenario is no problem! You have two excellent options. Warning for Apple Users -
If you will be using multiple Apple devices on the same iCloud account, you must disable Universal Clipboard/Hand Off. This feature syncs the clipboard across all iCloud devices. Disabling it prevents one device from copying over the clipboard contents of another.
To disable Hand Off:
If you will be using multiple Apple devices on the same iCloud account, you must disable Universal Clipboard/Hand Off. This feature syncs the clipboard across all iCloud devices. Disabling it prevents one device from copying over the clipboard contents of another.
To disable Hand Off:
- On Mac: Go to System Preferences > General > Uncheck Allow HandOff
- On Current iPhones/iPads: Go to Settings > General > Airplay & Continuity > Uncheck HandOff
- On Older Versions of iPhone/iPad: Go to Settings > General > Handoff > Uncheck HandOff
Option 1 – Multiple Jobs
In this option you simply create as many jobs as you have shooting stations. Each station will then manage their own job with their own computer and camera. This option has many benefits:- Each photographer can use the system just like normal with the standard Dashboard Queue. Nothing new to learn!
- Each job is totally isolated from other photographers so no one can interfere with anyone else’s job.
- This option is also excellent for gigs where each shooting station has a different background or location. A configuration like this allows you to provide your client additional organization via separate full galleries for each different station / look.
Setup Instructions –
The best part about this option is the ease in setup. You do nothing different from what you’re used to with our setup guides. You'll just have multiple jobs instead of one!
An easy way to set up this scenario is to first add a single job and customize it to your preference. Once you have this job set up perfectly, use the “Copy Job Settings” button found in the three vertical dots of the Job Panel to duplicate this job as many times as needed.
Pro Tip: Many photographers have found it extremely helpful to have the logo for each job contain some sort of station or letter identifier within it. Ex: Station A, Station B, etc.
Option 2 – Pool Mode
Alternatively, you might prefer to have all your shooting stations photograph participants into the same job (Requires Additional Setup! – see more here). Enabling this advanced job feature will convert your Dashboard from a Queue of participants to a synced pool of all participants in the job. This option also has many benefits:- Participants must only sign up once and can visit each station without signing in again.
- Participant’s images from each station will all end up in their own private gallery.
- All participants can be found in one single job and full gallery.
- Photographers at each station will be able to easily identify if a participant has already been photographed.
Setup Instructions –
In order to utilize Pool Mode and shoot into a single job, you need to perform 2 very simple additional configuration setups. For example, you need to enable pool mode for your job and update your file naming for each station. Pool Mode is what we consider an advanced feature, so please read the full Pool Mode help page before utilizing Pool Mode.
You can learn about the specifics of setting up Pool Mode here.
Common Questions
Why would I need pool mode? Can't I just shoot into a single job without it?
When using the Dashboard's queue, participants shift around as you double-click, delete or restore participants. If multiple photographers are attempting to utilize it all at once, they have the potential to misclick on a participant as the list changes. In Pool Mode, the list of participants remains in place at all times preventing this issue.