Invalid Job Configuration Help
Invalid Job Configuration Help
So you tried to set up a job to use both retouching and limited downloads but the system is telling you that this option is not allowed? Don’t worry! You’re not stuck or doing anything wrong. The below page will guide you through this situation.Why Is This Configuration Not Allowed?
Currently, by design, the system only allows for the use of retouching that you will fulfil later -or- the use of “as is” image downloads that Headshot Tools will fulfil instantly, but not both.While building these options, we initially built them to coincide. However, in testing we found that not only was this combination of settings confusing for photographers, it was also confusing to participants. When examining the different types of scenarios that these settings could be used in, we found that nearly 70% of the time they caused unneeded issues where simpler settings would provide the same effect without confusion. As a result, we simplified the model and made these settings mutually exclusive.
You may be familiar with and want the options of other one-on-one gallery software. However, these other types of gallery software rely on you as the customer's support system when participants need help. That’s fine for one-on-one customers, but when you scale up to hundreds of individual participants, that’s no longer a viable solution. This is the core reason why this configuration is not currently permitted. We hope that makes sense.
Learning The Configuration Options
We find that users sometimes stumble upon this invalid configuration only to find that what they really wanted didn't even need this configuration. We recommend first reviewing each of the below help topics to fully understand the available settings:-
Image Retouch Modes
Think of these modes as the answer to a simple question. “Do you want participants to be able to select and/or purchase images for retouching?” -
Image Download Modes
Think of these modes as the answer to another simple question. “What images do you want to be allowed for download?”
Alternate Configuration – Selling Retouching
A very common configuration is to sell only retouching. To configure this type of job, apply the below settings:- Image Retouch Selection: Allow Participants To Select And Purchase Images For Retouching
- Image Downloads: Only Retouched Images Are Downloadable
Initially while shooting this job, no images will be available for download because none will be retouched yet. Only later when you fulfil your participants retouching via the Retouching Workflow will images be available for download. Alternatively, you can set your “Image Downloads” setting to "All Images Can Be Downloaded" if you want participants to also receive their proofs as a bonus.
Alternate Configuration – Selling Downloads
This configuration is excellent for situations where you just want to sell the images in your galleries as is. Similar to the retouching option, you can also offer free download choices. To configure this type of job, apply the below settings:- Image Retouch Selection: Deactivated
- Image Downloads: Only X Number Of Images Are Downloadable And Additional Downloads Can Be Purchased
The best thing about this option is that there is no fulfillment work to perform later. Participants purchase the images they want and Headshot Tools automatically fulfils the downloads.
If you still want to offer retouching sales, you can provide that service outside of Headshot Tools later via links or messaging you supply in your gallery customizations.