Notifications Help

Notifications

There are various notifications you can set up or receive for Headshot Tools, but some might not function exactly as you expect. Refer to the help page below to get your questions answered about notifications and learn how to get set up.



Methodology

While you can use Headshot Tools for any number of participants, the software was designed to work best for jobs with 5+ participants. That being said, Headshot Tools is often used for hundreds of participants. Due to this, it isn’t practical to offer the standard types of notifications you may be familiar with in other applications.

For example, in other software, you may typically expect to receive one notification per instance of an event. In Headshot Tools, replicating this behavior could result in flooding you with hundreds or even thousands of notifications! We believe a situation like this creates an unacceptable user experience. As a result, we have engineered our product to be purposely light on notifications and to handle operations differently.

It’s important to think of Headshot Tools as a system that allows you to manage operations in bulk rather than individually. This approach saves you time and effort while ensuring you never experience a stressful notification situation like the one described above.



Retouching Notifications

As mentioned in the Methodology section above, one by one notifications for participants are purposely not available when participant’s select their images. We instead alert you of “needed retouching” in two ways:
  1. In the Jobs List, via the “Bell” Icon to the very left of the job name.
  2. In the Job Detail page via the teal banner at the top of the screen.
Anytime you see the bell or teal banner, you’ll know you have retouching work to perform. Clicking either of the bell icons will immediately take you to the Retouch Export List with the Unfulfilled filter applied. This allows you to access only the images that need to be fulfilled instantly!

When you’ve completed your retouching, you can clear the Bell icons by navigating to the Job Detail page and clicking the white icon on the very right of the teal banner or by snoozing the job. The bell icon will again pop up if additional purchases or selections are made. If you snoozed the job, it will automatically wake if additional selections or purchases are made.

We recommend you schedule your retouching rather than performing it in batches. This has an incredible number of benefits like avoiding never ending jobs, saving time / money, and allowing you to perform all your retouching in one single go!



Purchase Notifications

Despite the Methodology section above, you may still want individual one-off notifications. Stripe allows you to enable “Successful Payment” notification emails in your communications preferences that will be sent anytime a participant makes a purchase. Note: Stripe disables this setting by default.

To enable purchase notifications:
  1. Log into Stripe.com
  2. Navigate to your communication preferences: https://dashboard.stripe.com/settings/communication-preferences
  3. Switch to the "Transactions and Balances" tab.
  4. Check the box for “Successful payments”.
Within the Stripe “Successful payment” email you receive will be a field titled “Sale Type”. This field can read as one of two options:


Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com