Override Gallery Help

Override Gallery Customizations When Retouching Exists

This advanced feature allows you to automatically override your standard individual gallery customizations when a participant has at least one retouched image within their gallery.

Unlike the standard functionality of the individual gallery customizations that always follow the text entered within the customized fields, this setting allows each participant's gallery to dynamically change so they see different customizations when retouched image(s) are present in their gallery.

In this type of scenario, a retouched image symbolizes the completion of this participant's shoot in Headshot Tools. This feature is perfect for letting participants know different details following the delivery of their retouched files.

Please Note: This feature is often used for phased retouching where you retouch in batches. We do not generally recommend this practice but in some situations it's unavoidable. For the most optimal workflow, we recommend scheduling your retouching, performing it in one go and following the standard retouching workflow steps.


When Should You Use This Setting?

While rarer than other advanced settings, there are a few situations where this setting is helpful:

  • You have a job that you consistently reuse for a recurring client. For example, when collecting new hire photos over time.
  • You would like to ask for reviews from your participants but only after they receive their final retouched images.
  • You want galleries to have less or more informational text / links when a participant receives their final retouched images.
  • You will be delivering retouched images to only a subset of participants within your job.
  • You will be delivering retouched images slowly over time.


What You Should Know About This Setting

There are few helpful things you should know about this setting:

  • When this advanced feature is enabled and a retouched image is present in a participant’s gallery, all fields are overridden, even when left blank.

    For example, you may have some customizations entered on the standard individual gallery customization form, but those same fields are left blank within the enabled override customizations form. The gallery will honor only the override fields and ignore all standard fields.

    If you would like to retain a customization from the standard customizations form, you’ll need to either copy it or enter it again into the override fields. You can think of the override customizations form like, “These are the only customizations I want to display when a retouched image is present”.
  • This is a stand-alone setting and does not require any other settings to be enabled or disabled. It is fully compatible with all options and can be operated in conjunction with or without other settings.
  • Standard individual gallery customization are not required in order to utilize this option. You can have your standard individual gallery customizations entirely blank and still have this option enabled.


How To Enable This Setting

To enable this setting for your job:
  1. Navigate to the jobs list and click your job’s name.
  2. Click the three vertical dots icon in the “Job” panel.
  3. Click  “ Advanced Settings”.
  4. In the “Override Gallery Customizations When Retouching Exists” panel, click “Adjust Settings”
  5. Set the “Override Gallery Customizations When Retouching Exists” dropdown to “Enabled” and fill fields you want to display.
  6. Save your changes by clicking “Save Individual Gallery Overrides” at the bottom of the page.


Common Issues / Questions


  • Can I toggle this option whenever I want?
    You can toggle between enabled and disabled at any point without issue.
  • Do I need to set this option every time I want to use it?
    Yes, or you can use the "Copy Job Settings" feature to clone a past job's settings. This setting and its customizations will be reflected in the new copied job.
  • What does the "Copy From Standard Form" link do?
    This "Copy From Standard Form" link found by fields in the override form allows you to copy any customizations from the standard individual gallery customization form to this field. This link will not display if the standard customizations are empty for this field.


Other Questions?

If you have any other questions, please contact Support@HeadshotTools.com