Forgetting To Double-Click Help
How To Fix Forgetting To Double-Click
It’s common when first learning Headshot Tools to forget to double-click on a participant before photographing. When this happens you typically end up with one participant having images from multiple other participants. The below steps walk you through separating out these images and getting everything back on track!
Step 1 - Rename The RAW Files
Go to the Dashboard’s shooting queue and double-click on the name of the person you forgot to double-click. This will copy the correct File Prefix to the clipboard of your computer. You will use this for renaming the incorrectly named images. Next, go to your tethering software or local file explorer, find the files with the incorrect names, and rename them by pasting the correct file prefix.The main point here is to get the correct file prefix into the incorrectly named images. For more information on how to name files, see here.
Step 2 - Delete The Incorrectly Named JPEGS / PNGS
If you were exporting images as you were shooting, you most likely have a matching set of incorrectly named JPEG images as well. Locate the incorrectly named JPEGS or PNGs and delete them. We still have the RAW files from the prior step, so don’t worry, no data is lost!Step 3 - Export Your Images
Depending on how you were shooting your job, there are two possible routes you can take here:- If you previously exported images, you most likely want to export these newly renamed images. Go ahead and export just like normal now and continue to the next step when complete.
- If you previously were NOT exporting images, there’s nothing left to do in this guide. You’re all set!
Step 4 - Upload Your Images
After exporting, the correctly renamed images will be uploaded to the correct gallery in Headshot Tools if the Auto Upload Utility is already running. If the Upload Utility isn’t running, navigate to it and point it to the uploads folder per normal. The utility will upload any new or modified images to Headshot Tools and skip over any unmodified images that you have already uploaded.For more information on how to upload files, see here.
Step 5 - Clean Up Any Galleries
If you were uploading images as you were shooting, it’s likely that the last correctly double-clicked participant has the images of the next participant you forgot to double-click still in their gallery. To fix this make your way into the Headshot Tools Job Detail page for this job and click on the name of the last participant you correctly double-clicked. Here you will see thumbnails of all the images in this participant's gallery.If you find incorrect images within this participant's gallery, select the images that do not belong, click the red trash can, then click permanently delete. This will clear the incorrect files from this gallery. This will NOT affect any other participants galleries.
Everything should now be as if forgetting to double click never happened!
Pro Tip: When you’re shooting a job, make verifying the name of the person part of your workflow. Introduce yourself, ask for their name, and double-click on it in the dashboard. We’ve found that this makes double-clicking become a natural part of your sessions!